Skip to content
  • 9
    F1 Teams Championships
  • 10
    F1 Drivers Championships
    3 by Jackie Stewart, 2 by Fernando Alonso & Michael Schumacher, 1 by Damon Hill, Nigel Mansell & Alain Prost.

46 years of presence in Formula 1

ELF's story can be traced back to 1939. It was owned by French government at the very beginning and transferred to a privately owned corporation in 1994. In 2000, ELF merged with Total which is now the fifth largest oil company in the world and an expert in lubricants.

  • 1968: first appearance of ELF in Motorsport with Matra in F1
  • 1977: ELF and Renault introduced turbocharged engine to Formula 1
  • 1977-1985: Renault Team and ELF won over 15 victories, using the turbocharged engine
  • 1989: Renault and ELF brought to Formula 1 racing with a new naturally-aspirated engine, the 3.5l. V10
  • 2005-2006: Drivers' Championships and Team Championships with Fernando Alonso
  • 2010: Renault engines and ELF technology again: Ninth Formula Team Championship